Scholarships and Awards

Various scholarships and awards are presented to deserving students. Scholarships are awarded to students entering the program or at graduation.

The College of Agricultural Sciences Alumni Society, representing more than 8,000 former Penn State students and friends of the College, presents this award to a student who is judged to be an outstanding "all around" student.

The Golf Course Turfgrass Management Program Achievement Award, as established by the graduating Class of 1978, is designed with the purpose of giving recognition to the graduating student whose attitude and personal character are most outstanding, and are in keeping with the accepted ideals of the turfgrass profession.

The annual Duff Shaw Classic Golf Tournament, named in memory of 1986 two-year class alumnus Duff Shaw, co-sponsors a Penn State scholarship. The Duff Shaw is awarded to one student per year in the Two-Year Golf Course Turfgrass Management Program.

Named in honor of Dr. Joseph M. Duich, this scholarship is awarded annually to one student in the Golf Course Turfgrass Management Program.

One of the most important aspects of being successful in any industry is communication. The Myles Adderly Award recognizes one individual's accomplishments in this area.

The Penncross Bentgrass Growers Association, located in Hubbard, Oregon, has awarded more than $220,000 in scholarships since 1974. These scholarships are awarded to students pursuing a career in the turf industry. Scholarships are awarded each year in conjunction with the Golf Course Superintendents show.

The Pennsylvania Turfgrass Council's primary role is to support turfgrass research and education at Penn State. This annual award was created to support students in the Golf Course Turfgrass Management Program.

The Samuel I. Russell Foundation’s goal is to provide financial scholarships to those deserving students attending accredited universities pursuing degrees in Golf Course Turfgrass Management.

This scholarship program grants more than $50,000 in scholarships each year to young men and women pursuing careers as golf course superintendents or in other areas of turf management.